The EU Updates The List of Non-Cooperative Jurisdictions For Tax Purposes

The EU Updates The List of Non-Cooperative Jurisdictions For Tax Purposes

On the 22nd February 2021, the European Council agreed and published a revised EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.

Summary of The Changes

  1. Dominica was added to the black list
  2. Barbados was moved from the black list to the “grey list”
  3. Jamaica was added to the grey list
  4. Namibia, Morocco and Santa Lucia were delisted
  5. Australia and Jordan’s deadline to amend the harmful parts of their tax regime was extended to 31st December 2020 and they, for now, remain on the grey list.

Updated Lists

Accordingly, the updated EU black list contains 12 jurisdictions:

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Dominica
  • Fiji,
  • Guam
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Vanuatu

The updated EU grey list contains 9 jurisdictions:

  • Australia
  • Barbados
  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan,
  • Maldives
  • Thailand
  • Turkey

Status of Mauritius

Following the latest update, Mauritius remains a “green” jurisdiction. This means that Mauritius cooperates with the EU and has implemented all its commitments (met the criteria at the time of the latest revision)

What’s Next?

The next revision is due in October 2021.

The next big changes will most probably concern Turkey and Maldives.

As noted in the report, Turkey has to make tangible progress in the implementation of the automatic exchange of information by the end of 2021.

Maldives deadline to sign the OECD Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance was extended to the 30th April 2020. Maldives position in the grey list might therefore change in October’s 2021 list.

Carpus Tax Application

Post A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *